About Us
Who We Are

Faculty & Staff

List of 70 items.

  • Maddie Adler

    madler@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 1st Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by creating a supportive and engaging classroom community where we learn and grow together. 
  • Patrick Alcasabas

    palcasabas@sfbrandeis.org
    Physical Education Teacher
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by exemplifying integrity, kindness, and service through exercise, fair play, humility, and sportsmanship, and teaching students how to apply these values beyond the playing field.
  • Debby Arzt-Mor

    darzt-mor@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Jewish Learning
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by sharing Jewish values, tradition, and celebrations with all members of our community, and encouraging our students, families, faculty, and staff to find meaning and relevance in the many facets of Jewish life at Brandeis.
  • Keren Asayag

    kasayag@sfbrandeis.org
    Hebrew Teacher, 1st & 2nd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by teaching my students Hebrew deepening their connection to our shared Jewish history and Israel.
  • Jennifer Baumer

    jbaumer@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies Teacher, 6th & 8th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by challenging my students to the moon and back.
  • Bel Beeson

    bbeeson@sfbrandeis.org
    Librarian/Media Resource Specialist
    At Brandeis I make it matter by providing access to literacy, resources, and tools for creativity and exposing the Brandeis community to a broader world of books and information.
  • Neal Biskar

    nbiskar@sfbrandeis.org
    Social Studies Teacher, 8th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by learning something new every day.
  • Sandee Bisson

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by fostering creativity and hands-on exploration.
  • Ashley Bitton

    abitton@sfbrandeis.org
    Language Arts Teacher, 7th & 8th Grade
    At Brandeis I make it matter by living what I teach and making every person I encounter feel like they matter.
  • Jody Bloom

    jbloom@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies Teacher, 5th & 7th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by creating philanthropists.
  • Crystal Brown

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by encouraging my students to make informed, enlightened choices and to reach beyond their current understandings of their surrounding world.
  • Elizabeth Calderon

    ecalderon@sfbrandeis.org
    Office Coordinator
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by cultivating a welcoming atmosphere, and by celebrating the creative brilliance and inherent worth of every child.
  • Kate Callan

    kcallan@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 4th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by hearing what my students have to say and working to support them in their journey to being their best selves, and striving to be my best self.
  • Gina Cargas

    gcargas@sfbrandeis.org
    Resident Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by cultivating a classroom culture where every student feels included, valued, and empowered to take risks in their learning.
  • Nicholas Cole-Farrell

    ncolefarrell@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Technology and Making
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by empowering students, teachers,​ ​and staff with tools to grow their understanding of the world.
  • Irit Daly

    idaly@sfbrandeis.org
    Hebrew Teacher, 3rd & 4th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by sharing my love for Hebrew and Judaism with my students.
  • Malika Densby

    mdensby@sfbrandeis.org
    Human Resources Manager
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by providing exceptional support to our faculty and staff, so that they can focus on providing an extraordinary education to our students.
  • Sam Dossick

    sdossick@sfbrandeis.org
    Physical Education Teacher
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by continuing to bring innovative ideas to physical education. Teaching students about the body and living a healthy lifestyle will follow them long after they leave Brandeis.
  • Jonathan Ferris

    jferris@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies & Hebrew Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making sure that I am developing and deepening my relationships with students.
  • Ali Frank

    afrank@sfbrandeis.org
    Math Teacher, 7th & 8th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by encouraging exploration and creativity in all things math.
  • Rachel Freeman '02

    rfreeman@sfbrandeis.org
    Communications and Marketing Manager
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by contributing to the school experience for parents, faculty, and students through communications and marketing, and demonstrating the pride I have for being a Brandeis alumna.
  • Sarah Freilich

    sfreilich@sfbrandeis.org
    Science Teacher, 7th & 8th Grade
    At Brandeis I make it matter by helping students become scientists and find the science in their own lives.
  • Janet Fung

    jfung@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 3rd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by thinking of fun ways to engage students in lessons.
  • Lori Galante

    lgalante@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 3rd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by imparting joy, curiousity, and excitement to my students each day.
  • Dr. Dan Glass

    dglass@sfbrandeis.org
    Head of School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by loving learning.
  • Sara Goldrath

    sgoldrath@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 2nd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by integrating Jewish studies with my general studies teaching. For example, in science when we study the properties of water I ask the students to think about how water has been proven to be meaningful in the Torah.
  • Rebekah Goldstein

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by unlocking the creativity in each child. Art is an incredible way to teach flexibility, risk taking, problem solving, reflection, and inventive thinking.
  • Dr. Concepción Grande

    cgrande@sfbrandeis.org
    Spanish Teacher, 6th–8th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping and guiding students to connect with the Hispanic world by learning the Spanish language and its different cultures.
  • Bessie Grishina

    bgrishina@sfbrandeis.org
    Resident Teacher, 1st Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by motivating students to take pride in their work and by teaching them important values, especially responsibility and kindness. 
  • Ali Gunsberg

    agunsberg@sfbrandeis.org
    Counselor, 5th-8th Grades
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by supporting students and families around social-emotional learning in order to optimize relationships, health, and well being.
  • Shannon Gutierrez

    sgutierrez@sfbrandeis.org
    Assistant to the Head of School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by striving to make positive contributions to our wonderful community.
  • Taurus Hamilton

    At Brandeis I make it matter by upholding a high level of security and family-like service to our Brandeis community and all who visit.
  • Simi Hoze

    shoze@sfbrandeis.org
    Hebrew Teacher, Middle School Teacher
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by getting my students excited about the Hebrew language, invigorating their love for learning, and teaching them to stretch their bodies and minds.
  • Cate Hunter

    chunter@sfbrandeis.org
    Learning Specialist, 3rd–5th Grade
    Differentiation Coordinator
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by honoring every type of student and bringing joy to learning!
  • Isaac Jacobs-Gomes '98

    ijacobs-gomes@sfbrandeis.org
    Humanities Teacher, 6th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by trying to make everyone's day a little better, and teaching my students to do the same.
  • David Jefferies

    djefferies@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Language Arts & Social Studies
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by instilling a love of literature and language in our students.
  • Ali Kelly

    akelly@sfbrandeis.org
    Resident Teacher,  2nd Grade
    At Brandeis I make it matter by supporting children as they discover who they are as citizens and students.
  • Rachel Klein

    rklein@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 2nd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by encouraging and engaging students to be the best learners they can be!
  • Eitam Kohen

    ekohen@sfbrandeis.org
    STEM Teacher, 5th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by sparking curiosity in my students and supporting them in their exploration of the world.
  • Liron Lahav

    llahav@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies Teacher, 3rd & 4th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing my positive energy to my teaching.
  • Emma Larson

    elarson@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping children realize their love of learning and making their experience in kindergarten matter to them!
  • Marty Lipman

    mlipman@sfbrandeis.org
    Facilities Manager
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by creating an environment of functionality, understanding the individual needs and struggles of everyone involved with educating our students, and encouraging a happier and healthier workplace by identifying areas of improvement for a long term solutions.
  • Kimberly Lostetter

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by giving students the opportunity to be expressive, creative, and joyful music makers.
  • Tania Lowenthal

    tlowenthal@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Admissions and Marketing
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by building and shaping our community to reflect who we are and who we aspire to be as an independent, Jewish day school in San Francisco.
  • Madeleine Mackenzie

    mmackenzie@sfbrandeis.org
    Humanities Teacher, 5th Grade
    At Brandeis I make it matter by encouraging courageous kindness in the classroom, the community, and in our own self-reflection.
  • Joann Mahaffey

    jmahaffey@sfbrandeis.org
    Development Associate
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by appreciating the warmth, kindness, and diversity of our community and by finding ways to strengthen our connection opportunities.
  • Sandra Menachem

    amenachem@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies Teacher, 1st & 2nd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making each moment with our students, teachers, and families meaningful.
  • Joyce Mendoza

    jmendoza@sfbrandeis.org
    Staff Accountant
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by having a positive attitude: being passionate about my work, being a team player, having fun, and being happy. I also make it matter by always being willing to help and providing exceptional customer service to families, faculty, and staff.
  • Ari Micich

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by empowering students to share their unique musical voices.
  • Corrie Mizusawa

    cmizusawa@sfbrandeis.org
    Athletics Director
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by inspiring and positively impacting all of our students to become better people through sport.
  • Vika Nebeker

    vnebeker@sfbrandeis.org
    Admissions Associate
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by brining my positive energy into welcoming and supporting new families with the admissions process. 
  • Mira Peretz

    mperetz@sfbrandeis.org
    Hebrew Teacher, Middle School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by getting children excited about the Hebrew language and having them understand that Hebrew is an integral part of our heritage.
  • Robert Perez

    Facilities Staff
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by always being happy.
  • Anna Rentz

    alevy@sfbrandeis.org
    Learning Specialist, K-2nd Grade
    At Brandeis I make it matter by motivating students to be persistent and reach their fullest potential.
  • Jenny Rinn

    jrinn@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Lower School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by listening to what matters to others to inform my decision-making process to create a positive, inclusive culture.
  • David Royal

    droyal@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Finance & Operations
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping to build a school where our students can feel safe to learn, explore, and meet their potential.
  • Nicole Schoentag

    nschoentag@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by having high expectations of my students and having fun everyday.
  • Samantha Silvestri

    ssilvestri@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 1st Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by seeing each child as an individual and promoting their unique creativity.
  • Evan Spiler

    espiler@sfbrandeis.org
    STEM Teacher, 6th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by inspiring curiosity, creativity, and compassion in my students as they navigate their lives and learning.
  • Allison Stine

    astine@sfbrandeis.org
    Social Studies Teacher, 7th Grade
    Student Programs & Community Engagement Coordinator
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing history to life and helping students make connections between the past and the present. I challenge my students to think critically about the world and ask questions.
  • Dr. Sivan Tarle

    starle@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Middle School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by encouraging kindness and engaging in collaborative learning experiences with students.
  • Anatoliy Tsibulskiy

    atsibulskiy@sfbrandeis.org
    Security/Facilities Staff
    At Brandeis I make it matter by providing a secure and safe atmosphere for the Jewish community.
  • Abbe Wainwright

    awainwright@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Learning Services, 5th–8th Grade
    Director of High School Placement
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making it safe to make mistakes.
  • Mairin Weiner

    mweiner@sfbrandeis.org
    Lower School Counselor
    At Brandeis I make it matter by helping kids realize how much they matter! My goal is to help our students understand themselves and their unique gifts and that every member of our community is important.
  • Valerie Welsh

    vwelsh@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 4th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by really getting to know and understand my students, and providing a warm and welcoming space.
  • Angela Willetts

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making art a tool for critical and creative thought and action. I make the art studio a place of risk-taking, reflection, and experimentation where students can explore their own ideas and develop "studio thinking" skills. 
  • Cathy Withrington

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by fostering creativity, which is an important skill to have in our continually changing world.
  • David Worton

    dworton@sfbrandeis.org
    After-School Program Director
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by extending our caring community into the afternoon.
  • Stacy Youkilis

    syoukilis@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Development
    At Brandeis I make it matter in my work to advance the school's mission and values by aligning donor support with school priorities for the benefit of the students and community.
  • Cameron Yuen-Shore

    cyuen-shore@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Special Projects
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making math real and relevant for the 6th graders everyday!