About Us
Who We Are

Faculty & Staff

List of 91 items.

  • Orr Agam

    oagam@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 1st Grade

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by doing my best to encourage the students and be a positive, stable aspect in their life.
  • Patrick Alcasabas

    palcasabas@sfbrandeis.org
    Physical Education Teacher
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by exemplifying integrity, kindness, and service through exercise, fair play, humility, and sportsmanship, and teaeching students how to apply these values beyond the playing field.
  • Rabbi Camille Angel

    cangel@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies Teacher, 8th Grade & Tefillah Coordinator
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing intellectual rigor to studying the Shoah (Holocaust) and asking my students to emotionally engage and ethically reflect.
  • Debby Arzt-Mor

    darzt-mor@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Jewish Learning
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by sharing Jewish values, tradition, and celebrations with all members of our community, and encouraging our students, families, faculty, and staff to find meaning and relevance I nthe many facets of Jewish life at Brandeis.
  • Jennifer Baumer

    jbaumer@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Language Arts
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by challenging my students to the moon and back.
  • Penny Berry

    pberry@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 2nd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by meeting students where they are, and celebrating them as they achieve more than they ever imagined.
  • Neal Biskar

    nbiskar@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of High School Placement & Social Studies Teacher, 8th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by learning something new every day.
  • Sandee Bisson

    sbisson@sfbrandeis.org
    Media Resource Specialist
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by fostering creativity and hands-on exploration.
  • Jody Bloom

    jbloom@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies Teacher, Middle School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by creating philanthropists.
  • Juanita Bondoc

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by interacting with all of the students in the school, remembering their names, and—of course—knowing them and their parents.
  • Tammy Broner

    tbroner@sfbrandeis.org
    Hebrew Teacher, Middle School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by teaching Hebrew as a bridge to Judaism and to the State of Israel and its culture.
  • Crystal Brown

    cbrown@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 1st Grade & Middle School Teacher, Drama
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by encouraging my students to make informed, enlightened choices and to reach beyond their current understandings of their surrounding world.
  • Jessica Bryan

    jbryan@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 5th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by building a community with my students where they feel excited to share their ideas and want to learn from one another.
  • Kate Callan

    kcallan@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 4th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by hearing what my students have to say and working to support them in their journey to being their best selves, and striving to be my best self.
  • Nicholas Cole-Farrell

    ncolefarrell@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Technology and Making
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by empowering students, teachers,​ ​and staff with tools to grow their understanding of the world.
  • Zehava Dahan

    zdahan@sfbrandeis.org
    Hebrew Support Teacher, 3rd-5th Grades
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by sharing, inspiring, growing, and connecting to the students, faculty, parents, and the whole community of Brandeis.
  • Irit Daly

    idaly@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies & Hebrew Teacher, Kindergarten & Hebrew Teacher, 3rd-5th Grades
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by sharing my love for Hebrew and Judaism with my students.
  • Malika Densby

    mdensby@sfbrandeis.org
    Human Resources Manager
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by providing exceptional support to our faculty and staff, so that they can focus on providing an extraordinary education to our students.
  • Samuel Dossick

    sdossick@sfbrandeis.org
    Physical Education Teacher
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by continuing to bring innovative ideas to physical education. Teaching students about the body and living a healthy lifestyle will follow them long after they leave Brandeis.
  • Barbara Eisenhauer

    beisenhauer@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 1st Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by caring for and teaching each child as if they were my own.
  • Jonathan Ferris

    jferris@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies Teacher, 5th & 6th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making sure that I am developing and deepening my relationships with students.
  • Jeremy Fox

    jfox@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 2nd Grade & DeLeT Fellow
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by coming to school wanting to make a difference in the lives of students.
  • Ali Frank

    afrank@sfbrandeis.org
    Math Program Chair & Middle School Teacher, Math
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by encouraging exploration and creativity in all things math.
  • Rachel Freeman

    rfreeman@sfbrandeis.org
    Communications and Marketing Manager
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by contributing to the school experience for parents, faculty, and students through communications and marketing, and demonstrating the pride I have for being a Brandeis alumna.
  • Janet Fung

    jfung@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 3rd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by thinking of fun ways to engage students in lessons.
  • Lori Galante

    lgalante@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 3rd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by imparting joy, curiousity, and excitement to my students each day.
  • Dr. Dan Glass

    dglass@sfbrandeis.org
    Head of School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by loving learning.
  • Sara Goldrath

    sgoldrath@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 2nd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by integrating Jewish studies with my general studies teaching. For example, in science when we study the properties of water I ask the students to think about how water has been proven to be meaningful in the Torah.
  • Rebekah Goldstein

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by unlocking the creativity in each child. Art is an incredible way to teach flexibility, risk taking, problem solving, reflection, and inventive thinking.
  • Dr. Concepcion Grande

    cgrande@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Spanish
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping and guiding students to connect with the Hispanic world by learning the Spanish language and its different cultures.
  • Ali Gunsberg

    agunsberg@sfbrandeis.org
    Counselor, 5th-8th Grades
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by supporting students and families around social-emotional learning in order to optimize relationships, health, and well being.
  • Shannon Gutierrez

    sgutierrez@sfbrandeis.org
    Assistant to the Head of School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by striving to make positive contributions to our wonderful community.
  • Gail Harriman

    gharriman@sfbrandeis.org
    Learning Specialist, K-4th Grades
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping to build confident, enthusiastic readers.
  • Lisa Hawley

    lhawley@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by nurturing and celebrating each child's individuality.
  • Lisa Hjelm

    lhjelm@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Math and Science
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing authentic science to inquisitive minds.
  • Simi Hoze

    shoze@sfbrandeis.org
    Hebrew Teacher, 3rd/5th Grades & Middle School Teacher, Hebrew & Wellness
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by getting my students excited about the Hebrew language, invigorating their love for learning, and teaching them to stretch their bodies and minds.
  • Cate Hunter

    chunter@sfbrandeis.org
    Differentiation Coordinator
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by honoring every type of student and bringing joy to learning!
  • Kaitlyn Huston

    khuston@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 3rd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by putting in the time it takes to make personal connections with all my students and truly invest in who they are as people.
  • Robert Hutson

    rhutson@sfbrandeis.org
    Facilities Manager
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by ensuring that school facilities support the instructional programs.
  • Sharona Israeli-Roth

    sroth@sfbrandeis.org
    Dean of Student Life; Judaic Studies & Hebrew Teacher, 4th Grade; Holiday Coordinator
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping students live a life informed by Jewish ethics and values; empowering students to live a life of meaning and tikkun olam(service); and empowering students to be their own best advocate through leadership and community involvement.
  • Isaac Jacobs

    ijacobs-gomes@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Language Arts & P.E.
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by trying to make everyone's day a little better, and teaching my students to do the same.
  • David Jefferies

    djefferies@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Language Arts
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by instilling a love of literature and language in our students.
  • Amy Katzman

    akatzman@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 3rd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing my best self to work every day.
  • Ardath Kirchner

    akirchner@sfbrandeis.org
    ESL Teacher & Communications Associate
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping English language learners achieve fluency; by assisting in the production of Hashavua;and by song leading and guitar accompaniment.
  • Rachel Klein

    rklein@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 2nd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by encouraging and engaging students to be the best learners they can be!
  • Eitam Kohen

    ekohen@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 5th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by sparking curiosity in my students and supporting them in their exploration of the world.
  • Victoria Kopelevich

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by doing my best every day and having a good, positive attitude!
  • Elana Lahav

    elahav@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies & Hebrew Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by caring deeply about each child and the families in this community.
  • Liron Lahav

    llahav@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies Teacher, 3rd Grade & Hebrew Teacher, 3rd-5th Grades
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing my positive energy to my teaching.
  • Emma Larson

    General Studies Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping children realize their love of learning and making their experience in kindergarten matter to them!
  • Ivy Lavie

    ilavie@sfbrandeis.org
    Counselor, K-4th Grades
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping students experience social-emotional learning in a context that brings self-awareness, connection, and enhanced ability to fully engage in the classroom and in life.
  • Ilana Loewenstein

    iloewenstein@sfbrandeis.org
    Learning Specialist, K-4th Grades
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping students strengthen their reading and writing muscles and feel better about themselves.
  • Kimberly Lostetter

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by giving students the opportunity to be expressive, creative, and joyful music makers.
  • Tania Lowenthal

    tlowenthal@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Admissions and Marketing
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by building and shaping our community to reflect who we are and who we aspire to be as an independent, Jewish day school in San Francisco.
  • Lindsay Mackintosh

    lmackintosh@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Science
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by sharing my passions with my students so they can be encouraged to live purposeful, passionate, and happy lives.
  • Joann Mahaffey

    jmahaffey@sfbrandeis.org
    Development Associate
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by appreciating the warmth, kindness, and diversity of our community and by finding ways to strengthen our connection opportunities.
  • Sandra Menachem

    amenachem@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies & Hebrew Teacher, 1st Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making each moment with our students, teachers, and families meaningful.
  • Joyce Mendoza

    jmendoza@sfbrandeis.org
    Staff Accountant
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by having a positive attitude: being passionate about my work, being a team player, having fun, and being happy. I also make it matter by always being willing to help and providing exceptional customer service to families, faculty, and staff.
  • Ari Micich

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by empowering students to share their unique musical voices.
  • Corrie Mizusawa

    cmizusawa@sfbrandeis.org
    Athletics Director
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by inspiring and positively impacting all of our students to become better people through sport.
  • Vika Nebeker

    vnebeker@sfbrandeis.org
    Business Operations Support Specialist
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by supporting all the faculty and staff.
  • Sarah Nguyen

    snguyen@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 5th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing my whole (Jewish by choice, queer, female, parent, Midwesterner, constructivist, activist, foodie) self to my teaching practice, and asking my students to discover their whole selves and bring those identities to their learning.
  • Mira Peretz

    mperetz@sfbrandeis.org
    Hebrew Teacher, 4th & 5th Grades & Middle School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by getting children excited about the Hebrew language and having them understand that Hebrew is an integral part of our heritage.
  • Robert Perez

    Facilities Staff
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by always being happy.
  • Colin Rigby

    crigby@sfbrandeis.org
    Systems Administrator
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making technology simple.
  • Jenny Rinn

    jrinn@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Lower School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by listening to what matters to others to inform my decision-making process to create a positive, inclusive culture.
  • Paul Rogers

    progers@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Math
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping students solve problems and teaching strategies for solving them better.
  • Hope Rosenberg

    hrosenberg@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Learning Services, K-4th Grades; Reading and Writing Program Co-Chair
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by helping children focus on what they CANdo, which is really anything they want to do, even if they have to work harder at some things more than other things.
  • Gin Saepharn

    gsaepharn@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Math and Science
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by keeping the students curious, and encouraging them to ask questions, and encouraging growth and self-discovery.
  • Nicole Schoentag

    nschoentag@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 1st Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by having high expectations of my students and having fun everyday.
  • Allison Stine

    astine@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Social Studies
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing history to life and helping students make connections between the past and the present. I challenge my students to think critically about the world and ask questions.
  • Samantha Silvestri

    ssilvestri@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by seeing each child as an individual and promoting their unique creativity.
  • Jacqui Smith

    jsmith@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, Kindergarten
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by empowering my students in creative and supportive ways.
  • Orit Solomon

    osolomon@sfbrandeis.org
    Judaic Studies and Hebrew Teacher, 2nd Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by continually planting love, pride, and knowledge of Judaism into young students whose parents choose to raise them Jewishly.
  • Abby Stanford

    astanford@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 4th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by forming long-lasting relationships with students and their families.
  • David Starfas

    dstarfas@sfbrandeis.org
    Associate Teacher, 4th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by getting to know my students' individual learning needs and interests.
  • Leo Stern

    lstern@sfbrandeis.org
    Instructional Technology Specialist
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by bringing excitement and challenge to the classroom. Giving children an opportunity to be creative and problem solve is core to what I do. These things matter.
  • Gary Takeoka

    gtakeoka@sfbrandeis.org
    Database Manager
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by contributing what I can to the development team, finance team, marketing team, and the campus to make the students' lives easier!
  • Dr. Sivan Tarle

    starle@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Middle School
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by encouraging kindness and engaging in collaborative learning experiences with students.
  • Leslie Ticktin

    lticktin@sfbrandeis.org
    Admissions Associate
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by connecting with prospective families and helping them learn about our wonderful school.
  • Melissa Tsang

    mtsang@sfbrandeis.org
    Media Resource Assistant
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by fueling students' imaginations through reading and creating.
  • Anatoliy Tsibulskiy

    atsibulskiy@sfbrandeis.org
    Security/Facilities Staff
    At Brandeis I make it matter by providing a secure and safe atmosphere for the Jewish community.
  • Joe Vigil

    jvigil@sfbrandeis.org
    Business Operations Manager
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by listening to the quietest voice in the room.
  • Abbe Wainwright

    awainwright@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Learning Services, 5th-8th Grades & High School Placement Counselor
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making it safe to make mistakes.
  • Ricki Weintraub

    rweintraub@sfbrandeis.org
    Executive Administrator
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by supporting the faculty (making sure they have everything they need), maintaining student records, and problem solving logistical issues.
  • Valerie Welsh

    vwelsh@sfbrandeis.org
    General Studies Teacher, 4th Grade
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by really getting to know and understand my students, and providing a warm and welcoming space.
  • Catherine Withrington

    At Brandeis, I make it matter by fostering creativity, which is an important skill to have in our continually changing world.
  • David Worton

    dworton@sfbrandeis.org
    After-School Program Director
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by extending our caring community into the afternoon.
  • Camille Wright

    cwright@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Finance and Operations
    At Brandeis, I make it matter providing the "behind the scenes" service needed to support our educational programming.
  • Cameron Yuen-Shore

    cyuen-shore@sfbrandeis.org
    Director of Special Projects
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by making math real and relevant for the 6th graders everyday!
  • Julieta Zuniga

    jzuniga@sfbrandeis.org
    Middle School Teacher, Spanish
    At Brandeis, I make it matter by teaching a different language and culture, respecting everybody's differences, and celebrating the diversity around the world.